Mini Ginger and Orange Bundt Cakes

bundt cake
I have been slightly obsessed with Bundt Cakes ever since I inherited this beautifully decorated one from my German Grandmother (Oma).  It’s thought that bundt cakes originated from Germany, Austria and Hungary and were called bundkuchen.  I have never tried to make an actual cake using this one, if I inherited one thing from my grandmother, it was the ability to get a cake stuck in a tin, so fancy shapes and ceramic molds are just for decoration in my house.

Today I  decided to give it a go and made some mini-bundt cakes using individual silicone molds. These actually turned out quite well and were easy to use although I did still grease them liberally (even silicone can be defeated by me!).  The recipe was based on a Nigella Lawson one that reminded me of the ‘chalet girl’ favourite yoghurt cake.  Hers were lemon flavoured but I swapped lemon for ginger as we didn’t have any lemons to hand.  I also made some little loaf cakes at the same time, as I thought I may use them for the home produce sale for our school Christmas fair.

RECIPE
Special Equipment: mini silicone bundt molds, mini loaf cases (both from Lakeland)

Ingredients:
125ml natural yoghurt
75g butter (melted)
2 eggs
Pinch of ginger (plus crystallised ginger for decorating)
150g plain flour
1/2 tsp bicarbonate of soda
125g caster sugar
Zest of an orange (plus juice for the icing)

Makes 10 mini bundt or 7 mini loaf cakes.
Pre heat oven to 170C

EatMyFlowers minibundt1Method:
Mix together the yoghurt, melted butter, eggs and orange zest in a measuring jug.  In a separate mixing bowl mix together all the remaining dry ingredients then add the wet ingredients and mix together well.  Fill the pre-greased mini bundt or loaf cases with the mixture (about 3/4 full) and bake for 25-30 minutes (check after 20 minutes) .  When they come out of the over leave the mini bundts to cool slightly so they are easier to get out of the molds.  Allow them to cool flat side down.  Decorate by dusting with icing sugar or by mixing together some icing sugar and orange juice (you should have a thick but pourable consistency) which you can spoon over the tops.  You can add extra decorating by sprinkling crystallised flowers, ginger, flaked almonds or orange peel shreds over the icing.

Leave a Reply

