Laser cut paper for Christmas, still my favourite thing


I am still in love with all things paper cut.  I have always loved their intricacy and have tried many times to do my own (without much success) so love the fact that modern technology has made them more affordable to us all in the form of cards!

 

One of my favourite paper cut artist is Helen Musselwhite who creates fabulous illustrations using paper, including a beautiful series based on nature (see below).  She also makes intricate white cut outs inside domes which would be perfect for Christmas but unfortunately my decorating budget doesn’t quite stretch that far so I thought I’d make my own (of course I did!).

 

helen_musselwhite_look-of-love-1500x1483

 

Luckily I didn’t have to get out my magnifying glass and scalpel as I had lots of bits of cards left over from a paper cut range John Lewis did last year.  I had used some of to make window hanging decorations, a bit like the Danish paper cut ones they have.  With a bit of careful cutting and glueing in true Blue Peter style, I was really pleased with the result.  It also means I have got something festive to fill the glass dome that had been sat empty for over a year.  I may try to get one of those electric tea lights to go in it nearer Christmas to really give it some Christmas spirit.  If you would like to see more paper cut artists there is a very good blog feature by design sponge 25 Amazing Paper Cut Artists and I also have put some on my pinterest board called fabulous paper if you would like to take a look.

 

Leave a Reply

